



CALL FOR PAPERS

17th Annual Society for Financial Econometrics (SoFiE) Conference
June 10 to 12, 2025

Pre-Conference for Early Career Scholars
June 9, 2025

Hosted by ESSEC Business School - Cergy | Paris, France

Submission Procedure

Participants should submit their papers by **January 24, 2025** via the EasyChair submission system: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=sofie2025

The program committee will review every submission.

Please contact sofie@stern.nyu.edu with any question.

PROGRAM CHAIRS

Christian Brownlees, Universitat Pompeu Fabra and Barcelona School of Economics

Jean-Michel Zakoïan, CREST, ENSAE, Institut Polytechnique de Paris

INVITED SPEAKERS

Robert Engle, NYU Stern School of Business
Christian Gouriéroux, University of Toronto and TSE
Kirstin Hubrich, Deutsche Bundesbank
Anna Mikusheva, MIT
Anders Rahbek, University of Copenhagen

PRE-CONFERENCE INVITED LECTURE

Michael Wolf, University of Zurich

HALBERT WHITE JR. MEMORIAL JFEC INVITED LECTURE

Federico Bandi, Johns Hopkins University

SoFIE PRESIDENTIAL ADDRESS

Andrew Patton, Duke University

LOCAL ORGANIZERS

Andras Fulop, ESSEC Business School
Elise Gourier, ESSEC Business School
Andreas Heinen, THEMA, CY Cergy Paris Université
Roberto Renò, ESSEC Business School
Jeroen Rombouts, ESSEC Business School
Roméo Tedongap, ESSEC Business School

CONFERENCE LOCATION

Essec Business School, Cergy Campus, France https://www.essec.edu/en/campus/paris-cergy/

BEST PAPER AWARDS

Bates-White Prize for the best paper in the main conference SoFiE Prize for the best paper in the young scholars' conference

Pre-Conference for Early Career Scholars

Due to the success of previous pre-conference events, we are once again accepting submissions for 2025. We invite every participant of the Annual SoFiE conference to register and attend the pre-conference to help raise the quality and recognition of SoFiE's early career scholars.

The pre-conference provides students, postdocs, and untenured professors (with up to three years in a tenure track) the opportunity to present their work. Joint work with senior co-authors is eligible for the pre-conference as long as the presenting co-author is an eligible early career scholar.

The program committee will treat the papers eligible for the pre-conference exactly as any other submission for the SoFiE conference. However, if they do not make the main program, they are automatically considered for the pre-conference.

Finally, if indicated at the time of submission, it is also possible to submit a paper exclusively for consideration for the pre-conference.

The pre-conference will last one full day and will feature only early career scholars, apart from the invited address by **Michael Wolf** from the University of Zurich. We aim to have a seasoned scholar to discuss each individual paper in the pre-conference to enhance informal information exchange and constructive feedback.

Submission Procedure: EasyChair

If you have never used EasyChair before, please create a new user account to submit your contribution.

- After logging on, click on "New Submission" on the top left menu bar to submit a paper.
- Please indicate to which event you would like to submit your paper in the "Keywords" section of the submission form:
 - o "Main Only" if you are submitting a paper exclusively for consideration in the main program;
 - o "Main/Pre" if you wish to submit your paper for both the main program and the pre-conference; or
 - o "Pre Only" if you prefer the program committee to consider your submission only for the preconference. Any relevant keywords for your paper should appear after in separate lines.

Please name your pdf file with author last names and the full title of your paper.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Caio Almeida, *Princeton University*

Torben Andersen, Northwestern University

Heather Anderson, *Monash University*

David Ardia, HEC Montréal

Federico Bandi, Johns Hopkins University

Luca Benzoni, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

Tim Bollerslev, Duke University

Svetlana Bryzgolova, London Business School

Marine Carrasco, University of Montreal

Carsten Chong, HKUST

Timothy Christensen, University College London

Kim Christensen, Aarhus University

Riccardo Colacito, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Valentina Corradi, *University of Surrey* Veronika Czellar, *EDHEC Business School*

Yi Ding, *University of Macau*Jianqing Fan, *Princeton University*

Yanqin Fan, *University of Washington*

Marcelo Fernandes, Sao Paulo School of Economics

Christian Francq, CREST, ENSAE, Institut Polytechnique de

Paris

René Garcia, *University of Montreal*

Silvia Goncalves, McGill University

Nikolay Gospodinov, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Elise Gourier, ESSEC Business School Massimo Guidolin, Universita' Bocconi

Peter Hansen, University of North Carolina

Nikolaus Hautsch, University of Vienna

Yongmiao Hong, University of Chinese Academy of Sci-

ences

Ravi Jagannathan, *Northwestern University* Christian Julliard, *London School of Economics*

Ilze Kalnina, North Carolina State University

Raymond Kan, University of Toronto, Rotman

Frank Kleibergen, *University of Amsterdam* Sébastien Laurent, *Aix-Marseille Université*

Suzanne Lee, Georgia Tech Scheller College of Business

Yingying Li, *The Hong Kong University of Science and*

Technology

Oliver Linton, *University of Cambridge*Robin L. Lumsdaine, *American University*

Loriano Mancini, University of Lugano

Nour Meddahi, Toulouse School of Economics

Donghwan Oh, Federal Reserve Board

Andrew Patton, *Duke University*Markus Pelger, *Stanford University*

Benoit Perron, *Université de Montreal*

Alberto Plazzi, USI Lugano

Seth Pruitt, Arizona State University

Rogier Quaedvlieg, *European Central Bank* Eric Renault, *The University of Warwick*

Roberto Renò, ESSEC

Jereon Rombouts, ESSEC

Paolo Santucci, Luiss University

Olivier Scaillet, GFRI

Paul Schneider, U. of Lugano & Swiss Finance Institute

Shuping Shi, *Macquarie University*

Zhentao Shi, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Stephen Thiele, Queensland University of Technology

Viktor Todorov, Northwestern University

Fabio Trojani, University of Geneva and Swiss Finance In-

stitute

Rossen Valkanov, University of California, San Diego

Andrea Vedolin, Boston University

Bas J.M. Werker, Tilburg University

Dacheng Xiu, University of Chicago

Paolo Zaffaroni, Imperial College London

Xinghua Zheng, The Hong Kong University of Science and

Technology